Café Mare

City: Santa Cruz, California

Address: 740 Front St

Date: July 18, 2015

Meal: Lunch

Tales from my travels: Having arrived at Santa Cruz, I was not much impressed by the unkempt streets and small buildings around our hotel. However, once we drove down to the beach my views changed completely. The boardwalk with its glittering amusement park, the beaches with beach volleyball courts, the wharf with it restaurants, shops and sea lions…I could definitely see the charm Santa Cruz holds for young adults. We had lunch at an Italian restaurant because when is it ever a bad time for Italian food? The owners are Italian and I believe it’s a family-run restaurant. They use local organic ingredients and have great service. I ordered the Meridionale panini (grilled eggplant, zucchini, bell peppers and pecorino cheese on homemade focaccia bread. I have to admit that it was a hard decision however. I would like to go back for dinner one day and also try the homemade gelato. They do have gluten free and vegetarian options.

Website: Café Mare

Photograph taken by Agustín Carlos Diz

Leave a Reply

