29 Palms Inn

City: Twentynine Palms, CA

Address: 73950 Inn Ave

Date: July 23, 2015

Meal: Lunch & Dinner

Tales from my travels: It was with somewhat of a heavy heart that I left the L.A. area and the city life behind after a wonderful day in Disneyland. We made our way through desert roads to the tiny town of Twentynine Palms. By the time we got to the hotel, dropped off our stuff and my dad stopped at the gas station, it was nearing 2 in the afternoon and my mom and I worried no one would feed us lunch. We stopped at this inn located on the Oasis of Mara in the Mojave Desert. It’s a small place and possibly a nice choice of hotel too. I had a hard time deciding what I wanted because several things sounded amazing. They are vegetarian-friendly, of course, and have some vegan options as well. All their breads, dressings, soups and desserts are homemade. When available, they pride themselves in using vegetables and fruits from their very own garden. I ended up ordering the City Salad (mixed greens, beets, kidney beans, garbanzo beans, carrots, tomatoes and sunflower seeds) for lunch. We were tempted with dessert. I wanted the Chocolate Cake while my mom wanted the Carrot Cake; in the end, I won. My dad ordered a crème brûlée. After that delicious and satisfying meal, we headed over to the Joshua Tree National Parks and did several shorter treks as we didn’t have a lot of time. At night we returned to the same inn for dinner. The dinner menu included some of the lunch items like salads but also had pasta dishes and other entrées in place of the sandwiches and burgers. All entrées come with soup or salad, seasonal vegetables and baked potato, rice or fries. I immediately fell in love with the Portobello Mushroom (stuffed with feta cheese, shallots, garden greens and roasted red bell peppers) and ordered it with a salad and rice. The seasonal vegetable was summer squash. Everything was fabulous (aesthetically and gustatorily). If you find yourself around Twentynine Palms or the Joshua Tree National Park, I highly recommend this restaurant.

Website29 Palms Inn

29 Palms Inn, cartel

29 Palms Inn, comida

Leave a Reply

