Pizza Time

City: St. Augustine, Fl

Address: 124 St. George St

Date: August 13, 2016

Meal: Dinner

Tales from my Travels: After lunch at The Bunnery Bakery & Café and after buying my ice cream at Ben & Jerry’s, we left the pedestrian St. George Street under the blistering heat and headed for the Castillo de San Marcos, the oldest fort in the continental U.S. I wanted to visit the monument for a while. The visit really fulfilled the feeling I had felt the night before of being back in Europe (especially when a family of Spaniards passed us by). What most astounded me was the conflict of cultures and nations that occurred here over the years, something I had no knowledge about. We later finished our afternoon by going to the beach again; my dad and I had a great 5.11-kilometer run down the white beaches of St. Augustine. I tell you, time goes by much faster on the beach than on the treadmill. After taking showers, we went back downtown. We had originally  though of just picking a random place on St. George Street but my mom said she wanted pizza and there was one place that had really caught my eye the night before: Pizza Time. The name doesn’t say much BUT it is ranked as the second best pizza in the U.S. by TripAdvisor. Pizza Time serves New York-style pizza and sells it by the slice. I think you can also buy a whole pie if you wish but they are HUGE (20-inch diameter!). Is it worthy of being crowned as the second best pizza in the nation? Well, it was definitely very good, probably one of if not the best pizza I’ve had here. Of course, I prefer an Argentine pizza (you must try it, add it to your bucket list) but this one was delicious. Word of caution: the slices are enormous and they accept only cash for payment. I ordered a simple Margherita slice; I was tempted by the buffalo mozzarella (the original mozzarella) and fresh basil. My dad had a slice of the Bianca (white) with Spinach and Mushrooms and my mom had a slice of the Pomodoro. Highly recommendable and delicious, as I said before. They do not have an official website but I include their Facebook page that has pictures, information and the menu.

WebsitePizza Time

Pizza Time, hombre
Aren’t they proud of their pizza?

One thought on “Pizza Time

Leave a comment