Donut Hole

City: Panama City, Fl

Address: 12983 US Highway 98 E

Date: August 15-16, 2016

Meal: Dinner, Breakfast

Tales from my Travels: After lunch at Liza’s Kitchen, we went, at my request, to the Pier Park outlet where I got some great deals at Rue 21. We returned to the hotel to Skype with my brother and sister-in-law (who live in London) and change once more into beach clothes. Once at the beach, my dad and I did a relatively tiring 5.06-kilometer run; we ran less and slower than in St. Augustine because the beach is not level and the sand kept sinking us. Nonetheless, it felt great to run. I had planned on trying Eat My Pasty that night but it turned out, to my deepest regret, that it is closed on Mondays. The night before I had a hard time finding anything vegetarian-friendly (which ended up with us just going to Olive Garden) but this time I luckily found Donut Hole. I had overlooked it the day before, believing it was just a breakfast place. I was wrong. It is open from 6:00 AM to 10:00 PM. They bake everything themselves from the donuts to the cakes, muffins, pies, breads…you name it. They also grind and brew their own coffee. They have a large selection of sandwiches and you can choose what type of bread you would like (white, wheat, rye, sourdough, French roll, Tuscan bread, wheat bun or croissant (for extra charge)) and a side (chips, potato salad, fries, cole slaw or onion rings (for extra charge)). They also have salads and burgers. You can add some toppings to your burger and choose a side. With a name like “Donut Hole” how can we forget the all-day breakfast? Choices range from omelettes to pancakes, the typical American breakfast fare. For dinner I had the Garden Burger (tasted more like a Boca burger than Garden for those veggies out there) while my parents had regular burgers. A note for the meat-eaters: they are double-patty burgers, in total weighing 3/4 of a pound. It’s a lot! My mom and I chose the fries as a side that were delicious and homemade with REAL potatoes while my dad ordered onion rings. My parents managed to save some room for a slice of pecan pie; I don’t like pecan pie but they claimed it was very good. The following morning, we set off early since we had a long drive back to Houston plus additional delays due to the flooding in Louisiana. We planned on stopping at Donut Hole for some breakfast on our way since the hotel we were staying at didn’t serve breakfast. We soon found out Donut Hole is a very popular breakfast place. I ordered a short stack of pancakes with strawberries, my mom the Banana Nut Pancakes and my dad the French Toast. The pancakes were delicious but enormous; I wasn’t able to finish all of it. You also have a great selection of donuts to choose from if that’s more your thing; I’ve never seen so many different types of donuts in my life! Like I said before, they also have muffins and other goodies. Cake for breakfast anyone?

WebsiteDonut Hole

Leave a comment